Wednesday’s Child and the Typo

by thelifesavour

This morning I typed a hasty email to a friend telling her how my baby had started the day extra early. Later I noticed that I’d actually written woe up instead of woke up. It made me smile because no matter how early she wakes up or how the bad the night has been, my little one nearly always greets me and the morning with a grin and is anything but woeful. It seems that she, like me, is a morning person, always comforted by a new day and the possibilities it brings.

She, like me, was born on a Wednesday, and my typo today made me remember the old nursery rhyme about days of the week, that I have always struggled with:

Monday’s child is fair of face,

Tuesday’s child is full of grace,

Wednesday’s child is full of woe,

Thursday’s child has far to go,

Friday’s child is loving and giving,

Saturday’s child works hard for a living,

But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day

Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.

When I was little I used to wish I had been born a few hours earlier on a Tuesday, or even a day late on a Thursday. Anything except woeful Wednesday. My mother used to attempt to comfort me with the idea that full of woe also meant full of concern or compassion- that it meant I cared. Which I do.

But today I would like to reclaim Wednesdays, for me and my daughter. I would like to imagine that perhaps there is a typo in the old rhyme too and that woe should really be woke, and that its definition should read as follows in a dictionary:

Woke:  alert, bright eyed, ready for the world. Common expression to be full of woke, meaning full of energy, light, life.

