Keep Calm and Carry On Baking

by thelifesavour

Last night instead of blogging I baked.

Tonight, instead of blogging about what I thought I would, I’ll write about what I baked, as after a run of even-more-sleepless-than-normal nights, I am in need of something as comforting as a recipe, particularly one that turned out even-better-than-expected.

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

Chewy Fruit Muesli Slice adapted from The Cookie Book

75g chopped dates

150g Swiss style muesli (I used Morning Glory Porridge, imported all the way from the UK to my little local shop Calimera Market, with no nuts/salt/sugar so baby can have it too)

1 eating apple, peeled, cored and grated

150ml apple juice

15g butter at room temperature (27 degrees here!)

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and press into a 20cm round non-stick sandwich tin. Bake at gas mark 5 for about 35 minutes until golden brown and firm, (like the smiling centre of a sunflower). Mark into 12 equal wedges and leave to cool in the tin.

Then enjoy for breakfast the next morning with your baby or anyone else you love!

