Rocky Road

by thelifesavour

Last week, my journey down the rocky road of sleep deprivation was sweetened with another kind of rocky road- the edible one! Two playdates, one involving a crock pot of hot chocolate and one involving my vegan friend, meant that I found myself dreaming up recipes while trying to get my baby to sleep and have dreams all of her own.

When she finally did, I researched Rocky Road and discovered on Wikipedia that it originated in Australia but there are also British and American versions and the only ingredients common to all three are chocolate (dark or milk) and marshmallows. But as my Australian friend said, with Rocky Road ‘anything goes!’

So I went with that and came up with a vegan and gluten free version, which to my surprise, turned out to be one of my favourite things I’ve ever made. I don’t normally like chocolately things for breakfast (apart from Nutella) but I made an exception for this as I couldn’t wait until mid-morning to try it!

Here is the recipe, adapted from The Cookie Book’s Rocky Road Wedges:

Make 25g popping corn in 15ml of vegetable oil. Leave to cool for about 5 minutes then coat with a tablespoon of maple syrup. When completely cool put into a plastic bag and tap with a rolling pin to break into small pieces.

Stirring frequently, melt 150g dark chocolate with 25g coconut oil in a heatproof bowl over a simmering pan of water. Leave to cool for 2 minutes. Stir in popcorn and 75g dried cranberries (or other dried fruit).

Put mixture into a greased and lined 20cm square tin, and press down firmly into an even layer. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes until set. Take out of tin, remove paper and cut into squares, as big or small as you like!

DSCN1563

