Meanwhile back at home…

by thelifesavour

Shortly after coming home this morning I realise that several people in the building opposite are looking out of their windows, clearly engrossed in something below. The last time everyone leaned out of their windows like this was to watch a funeral procession and I wonder briefly if it’s somehow connected with the bombing earlier, even though that wouldn’t really make any sense. I can’t see the street from my balcony as the one below juts out and I consider going downstairs to find out what’s happening, to put my mind at rest, but just then, as if reading my thoughts, my friend who lives opposite skype messages me:

The police are outside your building because the ground floor family are having a domestic…you can’t see but someone has thrown all the furniture out of the window… 

The ordinariness of it makes me smile and somehow feel relieved. I am reminded again, how life goes on; how the drama-in all its pettiness and splendour, its grief and beauty- never stops unfolding.

