Bake yourself at home

by thelifesavour

After being away in Istanbul for a few days last week it took awhile to find my way back into my life and it wasn’t until I baked an apple cake over the weekend that I felt at home again. This feeling prompted me to finish the post below, which has been sitting in my drafts folder for far too long!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

We have a new friend in Beirut- new to the city and new to motherhood. I admire her courage. I’ve been both of those things, but not at the same time. Meeting her has reminded me of my own first few days here, the raw fear and exhilaration, crossing roads with my heart in my mouth, even without a baby in a buggy.

But in less than a month she is finding her feet, venturing out to our homes and cafes, crossing one road after another, both physically and metaphorically.

And she even baked muffins to bring to your house, which is a good sign! I said to another friend, who just looked at me quizzically.

Well I always think that baking makes you feel at home. If you can manage to get all the ingredients and get your oven to work… I never really feel at home in a place until I’ve made a cake there… I explain, thinking back to my first baking adventure in Beirut (documented here).

Since starting this post our now-not-so-new friend has made far more than muffins- inviting us for a morning of Valentine’s Day cookie decorating, hosting a pancake party and even organising a new playgroup serving tea and boxes of her own biscuits- well and truly baking herself at home.

